Strong Lifts 5×5 – Week 3 Results

I can’t believe that it has been 3 weeks since I started doing the Strong Lifts 5×5 Program and yesterday I was ready to call it quits. I stepped on the scale and was up from the last time I weighed.  I was brought to tears and was ready to order a pizza. The good news is that I didn’t order the pizza. I cooked up some salmon and a sweet potato and made a salad. I decided to wait until the morning to see what my stats would say.

I take my stats every Sunday morning. I always write the measurements down on scrap paper and then transfer them to my chart. I don’t like to look at the old numbers before I measure. I am afraid that subconsciously it would change the way I measure or how tight I pull the tape. 🙂 Once I was done measuring I weighed myself. I got the same number as yesterday. So I was up a few pounds from the last time, but the same as 3 weeks ago. Grrr. It was frustrating  BUT that isn’t the whole story. I had to compare my measurements to see if there have been any real changes.

Here is what I discovered and it blew my mind…..In the last 3 weeks I have lost 11 inches. Here is the breakdown:Bust -2, Upper Abs -3, Waist -3.5, Lower Abs -.5, Hips -1, Left Thigh -1. (Don’t ask me why but I only measure one thigh and I can’t accurately measure my upper arms so I don’t even try to do it.)

Here it is by week: Week One -3.5 inches, Week Two – 1.5 inches, Week Three – 6 inches.

I have considered throwing my scale out but I hope that eventually the scale will go down. I have about 40 more pounds to lose to reach my goal. Although if I end up weighing the same as now but can fit into my “goal” size I would be fine with that. 🙂 Inches mean more than pounds. Goodbye Fat – Hello Muscle!

Some of you may wonder exactly what I have been doing as far as eating and exercise. We (my sister and nephew) go to the gym 3 days a week to lift weights following the Strong Lifts 5×5 Program. ( Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday )

On most days that I am not lifting weights I have been doing an hour of cardio at the gym. I like the treadmill, elliptical and bikes. (Monday/Wednesday/Friday) Sometimes we just walk around the inside track. I do take 1 day a week off from everything.(Sunday or Monday)

I recently started using the Captain’s Chair on my weight lifting days. My nephew did a few reps and I thought I would see if I could even do it at all. I did about 9 or so. The next day my abs were very sore. I decided right then that I would do a few sets on my weight lifting days. The second time it hurt a lot doing them but I figure after a few times it shouldn’t be as sore. I guess I will find out.

I have been eating well and I am sure that helps. I am not eating grains (wheat, pasta, bread, rice…) I am not eating refined sugar (white, brown, corn syrup…) When I do bake up a treat it is a grain free recipe that might use the following: almond flour, coconut flour, coconut oil, molasses, honey, coconut sugar/palm sugar, eggs, cream, and butter. I don’t count calories or fat grams. I do eat carbs like white potatoes,sweet potatoes and fruits. I even allow myself an ounce of Vegi Straws as a crispy, salty treat in the afternoons. They are yummy!  They are carbs so I measure out 1 oz baggies to help me control portions. I haven’t eaten out much, maybe twice in the last 3 weeks. I don’t drink pop. I drink ice tea,  Lemonade , coffe or water.

Here is a sample of what I might eat during the day.

Pre-Weight Training – banana right when I get up & an Access Bar about 15 min before exercise

During Exercise: Sustain Sports Drink

After Weight Training/Breakfast – cottage cheese with fruit and coffee

Lunch – Salad with ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, lettuce and dressing and some fruit

Snack – vegi straws

Dinner – Salmon with mayo on the side, potatoes with butter or sour cream , pea salad

 

I have been going to bed between 8:30 and 9:00 p.m., and getting up about 5:20 a.m.

I workout between 6 am and 7 am. Then work at a desk job from 8-5.

Something else I am trying is the It Works Body Wrap. I did a wrap a few weeks ago and I did another one yesterday. I have one more that I will use on Tuesday.  I measured before and after and the wraps seems to make a difference. The first time I was down 1 inch in my lower abs and upper abs, but my waist stayed the same. I just don’t know if they would do the same thing if I wasn’t already eating right and working out. So I guess I like them but am not 100% sold on them. I started using them because a co-worker loves them. I want every advantage to getting healthier and thinner so I figured it couldn’t hurt. I also liked the idea of detoxing my body. Check out all the before and after pictures on the internet and decide for yourself if they are worth trying. They were kind of expensive. I bought a box of 4 and spend about $64 with tax and shipping. Four wraps is suppose to be one treatment. You can use them 72 hours apart.

Here are my weight lifting stats:

All weights listed below include the weight of the bar which is 45lbs when empty.

Squats : no weight just “air” squats ( I am trying to learn the form and get a little stronger before adding the bar. I tried it with the bar but my form was bad . My sister is doing squats at more that 90lb)

Bench Press:Started 45lb / Currently 65lb

Barbell Row: Started 65lb/Currently 85lb

Overhead Press: Started 45lb/ Currently 55lb

Deadlift: Started 95lb/ Currently 135lb

Each time we do an exercise we add 5lb but on the dead lift we add 10lb. Check out the link to the Strong Lifts 5×5 program to learn more.

Thanks to my sister for getting me started on this program. I enjoy it and actually look forward to weight lifting days. 🙂

I am happy with the results so far. I have committed to doing the entire 12 weeks of the 5×5 program. That will take me up to June. I am looking forward to how much stronger and healthier I am going to be.

This entry was posted in Strong Lifts 5x5. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

