Lite Mocha Frappe

My mom has been drinking a lot of the iced coffee drinks you can buy in a can like soda. I found a recipe for her. She really liked it until we figured out that 2 cups of it had 60 carbs. Yikes!!!

In the meantime I came across a recipe for Mocha Frappe that I thought sounded good. We tried it the other night and it instantly became a favorite treat for us both.

Here is the link to the blog: http://theysmell.com/homemade-mocha-frappe-recipe-weight-watchers-friendly/

Ingredients
■ 8 oz. cold brewed coffee
■ ½ cup milk ( I used 2%)
■ ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
■ 1-2 tbsp Truvia natural sweetener (I used Stevia in the Raw)
■ 2 cups ice
■ 1 tbsp cocoa powder (natural unsweetened)

Instructions
1.Add all ingredients to blender.
2.Pulse or use ice crushing setting to pulverize ice until all the ice is crushed.
3.Mix on high speed for 15-30 seconds
4.Serve (This makes 2 servings.)

What I did different:

I only used about 1 tablespoon of Stevia. That was about 8-9 packets.

I also double the amount of cocoa.

I tried it with different extracts too. The first time I tried peppermint. It was good but a little strong. Next time I try peppermint I will put half as much in. The second time I added coconut extract.

Mom had some vanilla, whipped cream in a spray can. We added a little to the top of each serving. At Wal-Mart I found the Reddi-wip No Fat version. It has only 5 calories and 1 carb per 2 tablespoons.

I figured the calories and carbs as made with 2% milk and 2 tablespoons of Reddi-wip. For each serving: 36 Calories and 3 Carbs

You could drink the whole thing and still be under 100 calories! Great treat to have in the summer or as a pick me up. 🙂  

Cocoa & Ice  Ingredients   Put in a blender until ice is crushed.    

 

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

