It is 3pm. Do you know where your snack is?

I can pretty much tell you when it is about 3pm on any given work day, without looking at a clock. It is usually around 3pm that I start to get hungry and I need a snack.

Today I brought what I thought was a Cutie with me for my afternoon snack. Cuties, are wonderful, little, mandarin oranges that are seedless and sooooo easy to peel, they almost peel themselves. I love the fact that they are smaller than a regular orange too.

I started to peel it and it quickly became clear that this was not a Cutie. It was a regular orange. It was hard to peel and then it didn’t taste very good, so I didnt’ even eat it. Now I was stuck without a snack. 😦

Not 5 minutes later a couple walked in to my office. It was the owner of a new business in town that does people’s taxes. She had with her a guy that was dressed up in a Statue of Liberty costume. I had seen someone in that costume standing on the street corner just last week. I told him that I hoped they paid him well.

They were drumming up business and handing out referral coupons for $50. Then as they were leaving they handed me gift. What was it? A bag of candy. I don’t know what kind of candy because I immediately put it on my bosses desk. Since I don’t want to eat it myself there is no reason to investigate that bag that was stuffed full and was bigger than my hand.

I did it. I avoided temptation. On any other “normal” day I would have been digging into that candy before those people had even made it to their car 🙂  but not today. Today, even though I don’t have my healthy snack I am not giving in and eating junk. It is time I make a new normal for myself.

Whoo Hoooooo! Way to go ME!!

This entry was posted in Breaking Old Habits. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It is 3pm. Do you know where your snack is?

  1. T says:

    Thumbs up!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

