Turn a cake mix into a low fat treat.

Devils Food Pumpkin CupcakeI saw this “recipe” on Pinterest and thought I would try it.

Ingredients:

         1 – Box of Cake Mix ( I used Devil’s Food)
         1 -15 oz can of canned pumpkin (100% Pumpkin)

Mix the two items together. Do not add any of the ingredients listed on the box of cake mix. Just use the dry mix.

I decided to make cupcakes. I filled 12 muffin cups and I had a some left over, so I put the extra in a small glass dish to bake.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 16-18 minutes.

Cupcakes made with Pumpking and Cake Mix

My Review:

I couldn’t even taste the pumpkin. It just tasted like chocolate to me. The texture was very moist and not any different from what I would expect from a cupcake. I am sure I could feed one of these cupcakes to my husband and he would never know the difference.  I plan on trying it the next time he is home. 🙂 Shhhh Our Secret!!

I ate one right when it came out of the oven. Yum! No need for frosting I like them plain.

                                             Nutritional Value: (based on the info from the packages I used)

                                   Made as shown above      vs         If you followed directions on cake mix. Calories                                       134                                                                 280

Fat                                               1.3 g                                                              14 g

Carbs                                           29                                                                   35

It would be hard for me to proclaim this “recipe” as healthy.  But when you want something sweet or need something for a special occasion why not try to make it as healthy as possible? I think these cupcakes would be great to take to a carry-in dinner or for a birthday party. Next time I am taking cupcakes to a function you can bet I am making them like this.

It would be interesting to see if you could do the same type of substitution with a cake made from scratch. Anybody want to try that and let me know how it worked for you?

 

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

