Yummy Egg Casserole

 

0111131215aMy mom made this dish for me once and I loved it. Below is her recipe. I don’t know where she got it from. When I made it I made a few changes but I will tell you about that later on.

Cooking oil spray
2 T butter
2 teaspoons canola oil
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1/2 green bell pepper, seeded and finely chopped

1 cup sliced mushrooms
6 eggs, beaten
1/2 c light cream
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper

1/2 lb ham, diced into small cubes
8 oz shredded low-fat cheddar cheese
1 large fresh tomato, seeded and diced
10 oz frozen chopped spinach, completely thawed, with excess liquid squeezed out.

Pre-heat oven to 350. Lightly coat a 10 inch pie plate with cooking spray and set aside.

In skillet, melt the butter and oil. Add the onion, bell pepper and mushrooms, and saute until the onion turns glossy and is tender, set this aside.

In the same skillet, stir together the eggs, cream, salt, and pepper and heat for 5 minutes, stirring constantly.

In the bottom of the pie plate, distribute the diced, ham, shredded Cheddar cheese, chopped tomato, and spinach. Top with the sautéed vegetable mixture.

Pour the egg mixture over the veggie, ham and cheese base.

Bake for approximately 50 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool for at least 5 minutes.

                                             Changes I made:0111131215

I doubled the recipe so it made 2 pie pans. (Unless noted here I doubled the ingredients listed above) I only used 2T butter to saute the onion and pepper. I used a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh tomato. (I drained off some of the liquid so it wasn’t so wet.) I used one 15 oz can of mushrooms , drained, instead of fresh. I used about half as much cheese as the recipe called for. I used milk instead of cream with the eggs. I used a 16 oz bag of frozen spinach, so it was a little less than double. I bought a 16 oz package of chopped ham and didn’t use the whole thing.  The results: YUMMY! But I did  have to add some more salt after I tasted it.

When I added the eggs to the top of all the vegis I wasn’t sure there were enough eggs. My dishes were full though and if I tried to put anymore in they would have been overflowing.

While it was good right out of the oven, it is also really good heated up in the microwave.

I will definitely make this again. It is really pretty to look at with all the colors.
Try it and tell me what you think.

I substituted canned food for some of the fresh ingredients for a few reasons.

  • Fresh mushrooms are really pricey and I am on a budget.
  • Lately, our local store has trouble keeping fresh mushrooms available.
  • I like canned mushrooms.
  • If I can make it with canned foods then I can stock my pantry to have those items on hand.
  • Whenever I try to use a bunch of fresh things I either don’t use them in time and they spoil or they freeze in my refrigerator.
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

