My biggest battle is in my mind.

I haven’t quite gotten everything in order to really get started on my road to health. I am finding that I am a rebel. I hate being told what to do, even when I am the one doing the telling. If I tell myself I can’t have pop, I want pop even more than before. It is like I am afraid to give up the comfort foods and bad things. Why do I want things that are not good for me?  The minute I decide I don’t want something I start craving it all the more. For me this weight loss journey will be a lot about winning the battle that is in my mind.

In the past when I have been eating right and feeling good I can step on the scale and if  I see that it is the same or has gone up, all of a sudden I am a big, fat loser. The negative thoughts completely ruin my mood and I give up. I think, “Why bother trying to be good when the scale doesn’t show any progress?”. This will normally drive me to eat something unhealthy and to completely get off track.

I know I need to stop worrying so much about what the scale says from day-to-day and focus more on making small changes that will have lasting results for years ahead.  In fact, I think I will put the scale away and stay off it. Maybe then I can focus less on what it might tell me. 

My actions steps:  

  • stop the negative self-talk
  • focus on the positive
  • put the scale away
  • start making small changes each day

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

