It is about more than just how much you weigh.

I have been sorting through paperwork today. I have a file where I keep all my medical records. In the front of the folder I found a paper where I have recorded some of the results from my blood tests, going back to 2006.

This paper just has the dates, my weight at the time and a column for my total cholesterol, LDL, HDL and Triglycerides.

Next to one row is a note that the doctor wanted to put me on a statin drug. I remember that conversation. I told her no. I didn’t want to be on medication. I had a patented supplement I was going to start taking and I was also motivated to get more active. I was sure I would be able to get my cholesterol under control without medication. That was in August of 2011.

In December of 2011 my husband and I got new life insurance and had to get blood work done. My results from that test were better than my August results. LDL was down some, HDL was up a little and TriGlycerides were down too. My weight was also down by about 10 pounds. I guess I was doing a good job at working to get healthier. I am not sure what happened exactly after that but I got out of focus.

I haven’t looked at this paper for a while, over a year in fact. I wish I had kept it posted on my refrigerator so I could be reminded that weight is just a number and it isn’t the most important thing. There are other ways I will benefit from getting healthy and eating better and exercising.

I am not going to beat myself up for having lost focus. I am going to post this paper on my refrigerator and I will see it every time I do weigh myself. (My scale is next to my refrigerator.)

It is the time of year when the health fair is held in our town. I will sign up again for blood work. I am a little worried about my results since I have been out of focus for so long. At least I know that a year from now my results will blow my doctor away. I will be so much lighter. My cholesterol will be in a healthy range and so will my blood sugar. (more on that later, maybe) I can’t wait to see the look on her face!

So remember: It really is about more than just looking better or being able to buy cute clothes.  It is about feeling better from the inside out and being healthier.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

