Chocolate Banana “Ice Cream”

 The finished product. Banana Cocoa Ice Cream   I found an idea for banana ice cream on Pinterest. Here is the link: http://userealbutter.com/2010/08/12/single-ingredient-ice-cream-recipe/

Ingredients:
Frozen Banana Slices
Cocoa Powder ( I used a few teaspoons.)
Peanut Butter ( I used about a tablespoon.)

Individually Freeze Banana Slices on Parchment Lined Cookie SheetAhead of time slice up a few bananas and put in the freezer on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Once frozen you can put the slices into a freezer bag and use as needed. Store frozen slices  for use later.

(By the way the frozen banana slices are great eaten right out of the freezer.)

 

Directions:

Frozen banana a few minutes in the food processor.Put the banana slices into the food processor and turn on.

It will turn into coarse pieces after a little bit.

 

 

After adding cocoa and peanut butter to whipped bananas. Keep whipping until it becomes creamy.

Add cocoa powder  and peanut butter and continue to blend.

Eat it now or put it into the freezer and enjoy later.

 

 

The texture was like a thick Wendy’s frosty. It obviously tasted a lot like banana. I wish I had added more cocoa so the chocolate flavor would have been stronger. I am not sure the peanut butter was needed. Next time I will try it without the peanut butter.

I think I will try adding some coconut extract or mint extract the next time I make it. I also will try topping it with some chopped almonds or peanuts. That would make it seem even more like real icecream.  

It was creamy, tasty and made me feel like I was eating something that was bad for me. :)  I am sure I will make it a lot when the weather turns hot.

 

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

